XANSYS Forum Index
    Register    

FAQ    Search    Memberlist    Usergroups    SmartFeedSmartFeed    Profile    Log in
offset line
 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    XANSYS Forum Index -> XANSYS
Author Message
sachin.awasare
User


Joined: 21 Oct 2008
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Fri Jun 19, 2015 2:50 am  Reply with quote

Dear all,
Is there any command or macro to offset lines/ spline in ANSYS mechanical ?
If anybody has information on it ,kindly share.
Waiting for reply

Regards,
SACHIN AWASARE
IRCLASS,
Mumbai
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Martin Liddle
User


Joined: 15 Aug 2008
Posts: 1274
Location: Chesterfield, UK

PostPosted: Fri Jun 19, 2015 6:48 am  Reply with quote

On 19/06/2015 10:50, sachin.awasare wrote:
Quote:
Is there any command or macro to offset lines/ spline in ANSYS mechanical ?
If anybody has information on it ,kindly share.

Do you mean Mechanical or Design Modeler or Mechanical APDL?

--
Martin Liddle, Tynemouth Computer Services,
Chesterfield, Derbyshire, UK.
www.tynecomp.co.uk

+-------------------------------------------------------------+
| XANSYS web - www.xansys.org/forum |
| The Online Community for users of ANSYS, Inc. Software |
| Hosted by PADT - www.padtinc.com |
| Send administrative requests to xansys-mod@tynecomp.co.uk |
+-------------------------------------------------------------+

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
_________________
Martin Liddle, Tynemouth Computer Services,
Chesterfield, UK.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
sachin.awasare
User


Joined: 21 Oct 2008
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Fri Jun 19, 2015 7:27 am  Reply with quote

In mechanical APDL

Regards,
Sachin awasare,
Indian register of shipping ,
Mumbai
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
daniel.diaz
User


Joined: 21 Apr 2015
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Sun Jun 21, 2015 11:22 am  Reply with quote

Hello,

The following link has a couple of ideas (older discussion on getting line normals):
http://www.xansys.org/forum/viewtopic.php?p=75493&sid=0ce9aa3745b020be25d732cfd1d6ae68

Ian's suggestion in that thread is a good starting point. I would take it a bit further by dividing the line into multiple parts and getting the normal direction at each of those.

At each point, use LSX[Y,Z](lnum,frac) to get one vector and use LX[Y,Z](lnum,frac+...) - LX[Y,Z](lnum,frac) to get another vector. Then, get the cross product of those two vectors to get the plane normal vector. Next, cross the plane normal vector with the LSX[Y,Z] vector to get your offset direction vector.

One problem with this method is that it will not work with straight lines because the 3 points used in your two original vectors are colinear. Another is that the plane normal and offset vectors at each part of the line could be flipped ~180 degrees from a previous plane normal and offset vector pair due to how your original 2 vectors at each part of the line are defined.

Best of luck,
_________________
Dan Diaz
Belcan Engineeering
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
j-rgen.humt
User


Joined: 21 Oct 2008
Posts: 188

PostPosted: Sun Jun 21, 2015 11:43 pm  Reply with quote

The lgen command (Prep7 -> Modeling -> Move/Modify OR Copy) allows to offset lines along a specified vector.
You can either move the line along this vector, or generate a copy of existing lines in the direction of that vector.

Not sure whether this is what you want.

Regards,

Juergen Humt
Siemens Fossile Power


-----Ursprüngliche Nachricht-----
Von: Xansys [mailto:xansys-bounces@xansys.org] Im Auftrag von sachin.awasare
Gesendet: Freitag, 19. Juni 2015 11:51
An: xansys@xansys.org
Betreff: [Xansys] offset line

Dear all,
Is there any command or macro to offset lines/ spline in ANSYS mechanical ?
If anybody has information on it ,kindly share.
Waiting for reply

Regards,
SACHIN AWASARE
IRCLASS,
Mumbai






+-------------------------------------------------------------+
| XANSYS web - www.xansys.org/forum |
| The Online Community for users of ANSYS, Inc. Software |
| Hosted by PADT - www.padtinc.com |
| Send administrative requests to xansys-mod@tynecomp.co.uk |
+-------------------------------------------------------------+
+-------------------------------------------------------------+
| XANSYS web - www.xansys.org/forum |
| The Online Community for users of ANSYS, Inc. Software |
| Hosted by PADT - www.padtinc.com |
| Send administrative requests to xansys-mod@tynecomp.co.uk |
+-------------------------------------------------------------+

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sachin.awasare
User


Joined: 21 Oct 2008
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon Jun 22, 2015 2:15 am  Reply with quote

Dear Juergen Humt,
thank you very much for your reply but option that you have suggested will copy line in one direction.
I am interested to offset curve,same as we are doing in Auto Cad Offset command

Regards,
Sachin awasare,
Indian register of shipping ,
Mumbai
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    XANSYS Forum Index -> XANSYS
All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

sleek template created by Andrew Charron