XANSYS Forum Index
    Register    

FAQ    Search    Memberlist    Usergroups    SmartFeedSmartFeed    Profile    Log in
[OTHER] RSM 16.1 - Unable to contact Solve Manager
 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    XANSYS Forum Index -> XANSYS
Author Message
andrew.kelly
User


Joined: 06 Mar 2012
Posts: 243
Location: Columbus, OH

PostPosted: Wed May 27, 2015 10:15 am  Reply with quote

I'm waiting on a call back from Ansys, but if anyone knows a solution, it would be helpful.

I just installed Ansys 16.1 on a Windows x64 Solve Manager and client workstation.

I successfully set up RSM on the Solve Manager - it finishes the "test" job. I can also run Mechanical interactively from the Solve Manager computer and obtain a solution.

From a workstation, I can't complete the RSM Wizard Setup. When I give it the Solve Manager address, it gives me an "Unable to contact Solve Manager" error.

I didn't find anything in the customer support area.
_________________
Andrew C. Kelly, P.E.
Honeywell Sensing & Productivity Solutions
andrew.kelly@honeywell.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
shantanu.bhide
User


Joined: 29 Apr 2014
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed May 27, 2015 11:55 am  Reply with quote

Hi Andrew,

Looks like a typical multiple NIC issue. Someone from ANSYS support team
will follow this up soon if you have created a SR#. In the mean time, you
can look for "2.3.4.3. Configuring Computers with Multiple Network
Interface Cards (NIC)" in the RSM user guide. There is a R16 tutorial on
customer portal too.

Hope this helps.

Thanks
-Shantanu


Shantanu Bhide
Product Manager -EKM/RSM
ANSYS, Inc
email: shantanu.bhide@ansys.com
phone: 724-820-3907
fax: 724-820-3816
Website: www.ansys.com

USPS: 2600 ANSYS Drive
Canonsburg, PA 15317-9565

The information transmitted is intended only for the person or entity to
which it is addressed and may contain confidential and/or privileged
material. Any review, retransmission, dissemination or other use of, or
taking of any action in reliance upon, this information by persons or
entities other than the intended recipient is prohibited. If you received
this in error, please contact the sender and delete the material from any
computer.



On Wed, May 27, 2015 at 1:15 PM, andrew.kelly <andrew.kelly@honeywell.com>
wrote:

Quote:
I'm waiting on a call back from Ansys, but if anyone knows a solution, it
would be helpful.

I just installed Ansys 16.1 on a Windows x64 Solve Manager and client
workstation.

I successfully set up RSM on the Solve Manager - it finishes the "test"
job. I can also run Mechanical interactively from the Solve Manager
computer and obtain a solution.

From a workstation, I can't complete the RSM Wizard Setup. When I give it
the Solve Manager address, it gives me an "Unable to contact Solve Manager"
error.

I didn't find anything in the customer support area.

------------------------
Andrew C. Kelly, P.E.
Honeywell Sensing &amp; Control
andrew.kelly@honeywell.com






+-------------------------------------------------------------+
| XANSYS web - www.xansys.org/forum |
| The Online Community for users of ANSYS, Inc. Software |
| Hosted by PADT - www.padtinc.com |
| Send administrative requests to xansys-mod@tynecomp.co.uk |
+-------------------------------------------------------------+

+-------------------------------------------------------------+
| XANSYS web - www.xansys.org/forum |
| The Online Community for users of ANSYS, Inc. Software |
| Hosted by PADT - www.padtinc.com |
| Send administrative requests to xansys-mod@tynecomp.co.uk |
+-------------------------------------------------------------+

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
andrew.kelly
User


Joined: 06 Mar 2012
Posts: 243
Location: Columbus, OH

PostPosted: Sat May 30, 2015 7:00 am  Reply with quote

Seemed to be a permission issue for the RSM services on the server.

My user ID is in the Administrators group on the server. I used "Run As Administrator" to install Ansys, but guess I did not use that technique to run the RSM Setup Wizard. I don't remember this being an issue on prior versions. Even though I am in the Administrators group, it seems to matter.

Resolution:
Stop the Ansys job manager service and script hosting service from the control panel.
Start a command prompt with "Run as Administrator"
change to the ...\RSM\bin directory
type AnsConfigRSM.exe -mgr –svr

Then the client workstation can complete the RSM Setup Wizard.
_________________
Andrew C. Kelly, P.E.
Honeywell Sensing & Productivity Solutions
andrew.kelly@honeywell.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    XANSYS Forum Index -> XANSYS
All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

sleek template created by Andrew Charron